Simran - I Wonder...

"Sometimes, I am terrified of my heart; of its constant hunger for whatever it is it wants. The way it stops and starts." -Edgar Allan Poe

It’s Getting Dark!

Achluophobia, Nyctophobia, Scotophobia or Lygophobia, whatever you call it, for me, it’s a nightmare. Time: 7:35 PM. Just like every other day of my life, I stand by my window starring at the dusk falling rapidly, catching a few more moments of the light, hoping somehow the sun doesn’t set this time but disappointed again.

As the room starts to get darker, so do my thoughts. I feel my heart beating faster, the uneasiness of breathing, body sweating as I try to ignore the slight pain I feel in my chest. I think to myself, only if I could just run away to a place where I could breathe again, but where could I go? This was my reality that I could not escape, at least not now. Today is the day I had always been dreading, I was home alone and the sun had almost set.

It is crazy how just imagination could change your world; and I am living that crazy right now. I cannot concentrate on anything but the dark. Without realizing, I start to shake with the thought of turning around and walking to the light switch to turn on the light. I am afraid to take these few steps; I don’t know what to do. All of the things that could go wrong are rushing through my mind, especially being alone.

I remember the therapist’s words and try to take deep breaths. I finally make up the courage to turn around and face the door. I almost think I can’t do it but manage to move my muscles and turn. I realize I had been holding my breath which I let out. It feels like an accomplishment, almost satisfactory before the half open door grabs my attention.

Now, I count. Seven steps to the switch. It feels like I can never make it. The thought frightens me and give me anxiety. I try to stay as silent as possible and look around the room; I feel my stomach drop to my feet as I see my own shadow move from the night light in my room that is always on. Anything could come out from behind the door screaming at me and it would all end right now. What if I get attacked? What if I can’t get away? What if I cannot face it?

It seems so real, I almost start to cry. I can’t stand it anymore, it’s like I am losing control, half dying. My numb fingers make me question if I have the strength to even pull the light switch. The time moves slower than ever. I cannot live with the thought of someone peeking at me from behind the door but also can’t breathe in this dark room. Not being able to see completely makes me feel like someone is always there, just waiting for me to close my eyes. I take a deep breath, and feed myself words of hope.

With all the courage I have left in me, I walk fast towards the door, turn on the light switch, run to my bed and hide myself under the blankets. A little bit of life enters me. I lay there staring at the bright light directly above me, bothering my eyes but much pleasant than the fear I felt in the dark. Unable to sleep, I think, scared and shaking. Is the door locked? Am I safe? Can I make it?

Time now: 2 AM. Still wide awake, I feel the dryness of my mouth and the desperate thirst for water, 4 more hours until the sun rise. I can wait. I can wait I tell myself before I hear rapid knocks on the door.

This is what a day in a life of a person with fear of darkness looks like. This writing piece was originally for a psychology class assignment but I chose to include it into my blog as well because I connected to it in a way. It also allowed me to step into someone else’s shoes and view life from a different perspective.

Previous Post

6 Comments

  1. foundmissing October 12, 2017

    Dear Simran,

    When I started reading this, the first thing I noticed was that I was captivated by this piece immediately. It has a quality that most people can relate to. I certainly relate to this on some levels since even I am afraid of the dark. Keep making amazing work Simran, I enjoyed it!

    love,
    Shiksha

  2. carmenim October 12, 2017

    Dearest Simran,

    I LOVED THIS!!

    The ways in which you took a simple moment and time, stretched it out, and gave such meaning to it is truly beautiful! I especially loved the theme of darkness and light, and how you described the darkness almost like a person waiting to pounce.

    The structure in this piece was well done as well – simple, same-size paragraphs was really appealing to the eye – especially when paired with the visuals you chose.

    One thing that I would offer for feedback would be to edit small GUMPS errors.

    Keep up the great work!

    Carmen 🙂

  3. zainmohamed01 October 18, 2017

    Dear Simran,

    I loved your free choice blog! It was very creative and I like how you chose to do something so different and out of the ordinary. It was great that you structured your piece in time increments as it made it more organized.

    One thing that I would suggest is fixing some of your word choices because at times they disrupted the flow of the writing. An example includes, removing the word ”just” from ”it’s crazy how just imagination could change your world” that’s just my opinion though.

    Overall I thoroughly enjoyed your piece!

    Sincerely,

    Zain

  4. leogem October 19, 2017

    Dear Simran

    Wow!!
    I love this blog. This piece was so amazing. I love how you took your time and turned your piece into something beautiful. I also love the themes you chose.

    One thing l would suggest is that you edit your work for any grammar errors and also wording choices.

    Sincerely,

    Nicole

  5. weareonlyamoment October 28, 2017 — Post Author

    Thank you all so much for your feedback! 😊
    I am so glad you liked the theme of this piece, Nicole. Zain, I am happy you enjoyed my writing, thanks! I will make sure to edit for errors, thanks for commenting, Carmen! I am glad you could connect to the writing, thanks for reading, Shiksha!

    Simran

  6. beautifullyybroken January 14, 2018

    Dear Simran,
    This is one of the first times I visited your blog. And I can say with confidence that I am glad I took the chance to check out your blog. I am impressed by the way this piece turned out. Each detail you used really helps the reader understand what goes through a person with the fear of darkness.

    I don’t really have any suggestions for improvement except for looking out for a few GUMPS.

    For example these sentences:

    “Today is the day I had always been dreading, I was home alone and the sun had almost set.”
    After “dreading”, instead of a comma, put a semi-colon or a dash.

    “It is crazy how just imagination could change your world; and I am living that crazy right now.”
    After “world”, there shouldn’t be a semi-colon.

    And there are just a few small errors like that throughout your piece and I helped point out a few so you can re-read your piece and fix those.

    But other than that, this was a well-written piece and I really hope to read more of your work. Please never stop writing!!

    Love,
    Malaika

Leave a Reply

© 2024 Simran – I Wonder…

Theme by Anders Norén

Skip to toolbar